Open letter to SASBA Bowlers

Well, 2014 is over...another year of close tournaments, exciting finishes, new stars and new members. The 25th year of SASBA competition has brought some new rule changes and clarifications regarding Member/Guest eligibility, cleaning of balls during play, putting other people in brackets and new Champ/Non-Champ Tournament. Details will be in the Yearbook and on the homepage. We tried the old "Masters" format for qualifying in the Annual Championship this year and according to most, it was a big hit.

Mike Lynch ended his first year as President of the Board of Directors and has been very helpful in planning. We raised another \$19000 for JDRF in the Member/Ladies Doubles...bringing the total to date to over \$43000.

We ended our 2nd year with Brunswick as our ball sponsor. What a great ball lineup they have! Thanks to Brian Graham and Robert Lawrence for their continued support.

In 2014, our total prize fund was over \$517,000. Of this total, \$61000 was added by host centers and over \$51000 by SASBA from dues, brackets and ball sales. We had 130 bowlers in the Annual Christmas Team Tournament...the most in quite a few years. You need three tournaments bowled during the year to qualify for this one.

Noteworthy events during 2014:

- Charlie Hufford, Pat Currie and Roger West joined Fred Barnes and me in the 1 Million Pins Club.
- o Doug Barron and Kathy King were inducted into the SASBA Hall of Fame
- o Pete Thomas won 50-59 Bowler of the Year
- o Paul McCordic won 60-69 Bowler of the Year
- o Bob McGregor won 70 & over Bowler of the Year
- o David Anthony won Rookie of the Year
- o Randy Summers won the Lewis Ray Sportsmanship Award

We had 14 first time champions...Phil Kepner, Mike Allison, Cordell Wilder, Mike Marks, Pat Henderson, Darrell Wood, C. K. Moore, David Anthony, Clarence McQueen, Ziggy Czaja, Danny Inocencio, Steve Martin, Blane Adkins and Ed Kilcullen.

Our tour couldn't run as smoothly as it does without the help of lots of volunteers and supporters. Thanks to Kathy Beavers, Ron Collins, Gayle Currie and lots of bowlers and wives who help with the calcuttas, recaps and scores. A special thanks to Dean Jones for serving as webmaster and to Mark Estes for being "Statman". Gordon Stuntz and Mike Kenerson are responsible for the Yearbook. Marcel Duvall provides the placques and trophies at his cost...as does Randy Fuller with the banners and David Zappitelli with the Hall of Fame rings. Debbie and Leisha Murr work hard to provide consistent quality in the SASBA Champions jackets and Brunswick name shirts.

Once again, new knees and hips, stents, lily awards were too numerous to mention. Kathy and I hope everyone can make a New Year's Resolution to wear their name shirts in every tournament next year...and to urge their guests to do the same. It really does make a better tournament when everybody wears one. On a personal note, thanks to all who have given us support, prayers and well wishes for our battle with cancer. So far, so good and I will keep everyone posted on progress.

Regards,

Jim & Kathy King